Chip Ganassi Racing Expands 2024 INDYCAR Team with Kyffin Simpson on Board



Posted on 09/18/2023

Chip Ganassi Racing Expands 2024 INDYCAR Team with Kyffin Simpson on Board

Chip Ganassi Racing announced today that Kyffin Simpson will make the jump to join the team’s NTT INDYCAR SERIES lineup for the complete 2024 season.

Simpson, who joined Chip Ganassi Racing as a development driver in May of 2022, competed in the INDY NXT by Firestone series for the past two seasons. This year, Simpson registered two top-three finishes in his sophomore campaign, standing on the podium at both Mid-Ohio and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course.

Simpson currently competes in the European Le Mans Series, where he and his two teammates lead the LMP2 championship standings with three races remaining, thanks in part to their impressive 4 Hours of Le Castellet victory. This year, Simpson also captured sports car victories at IMSA’s Twelve Hours of Sebring race (LMP2 class victory; P3 overall) and the Asian Le Mans Series’ 4 Hours of Dubai race (LMP2 class; overall victory). 

“It’s been incredible working with Chip Ganassi Racing as their development driver over the last couple years and I’ve been able to learn so much. I am very excited to be making the next step to INDYCAR with this team,” said Simpson. “I had a great time at the test and I can’t wait to get back in the car. It’s been my dream to race in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and it’s an honor to make it happen now with one of the best teams in the series. I’m really looking forward to working more closely with the entire team and the drivers. I want to give all the glory to God, and I also want to thank Chip and Mike for giving me this opportunity, Ridgeline Lubricants and The American Legion for their support, and of course my family.”

The Cayman Islands native piloted an INDYCAR SERIES car for the first time in January of 2023 with Chip Ganassi Racing at a Sebring International Raceway test.

At 18 years old, Simpson is currently slated to be the youngest INDYCAR SERIES driver on the grid next season.

Simpson will round out the Chip Ganassi Racing lineup for the 2024 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season, joining six-time champion Scott Dixon, two-time champion Alex Palou, 2023 Rookie of the Year Marcus Armstrong and 2022 INDY NXT Champion Linus Lundqvist.

“We welcome Kyffin as a teammate to our INDYCAR program. He has been integrated into a Chip Ganassi Racing multi-year defined development program which now provides the opportunity at open-wheel’s highest level,” said Chip Ganassi Racing Managing Director Mike Hull. “He has already tested an INDYCAR with more to follow as an INDY NXT graduate. In addition, he is already a proven winner in IMSA at the 12 Hours of Sebring in LMP2 and on an LMP2 global stage in the ASLM and ELMS series.”

Before advancing to INDY NXT and sports car competition, Simpson won the 2021 Formula Regional Americas Championship after earning seven wins, two pole positions and 13 total podiums.